Introduction

How does one introduce themselves to the blogging world?  Admittedly I’ve not spent much time reading what blogs say or researching what they look like but I’ve heard that they are good to have for various reasons.  I’m not sure what to expect from starting one, but I suppose time will tell if I am successful at blogging or not.  Please beware I am fairly opinionated and I’m not known for being politically correct.  I’m not a writer and I probably have poor grammatical skills.  That’s just the way it is.

If you happen to venture a little bit and read my about page, you won’t find a whole lot of specifics there.  My education consists of 6 years in an elementary parochial school, 7 years in traditional public school, and two years in Bible School.  I suppose my continuing education also includes 30 years in the roofing industry. (Being that I’m only 42 I suppose you might question that, nonetheless it is true.)  For about 15 of those years I was at least part owner in the company and for a little more than 3 years I was the sole owner.

It was in May of this year that I sold off the assets of my company and found myself unemployed, with no money, no source of income, no unemployment benefit, no health insurance, and no clue what to do next.  I was unable to sell the company for the debt owed, so I still have a substantial debt to pay.  It’s amazing when you find yourself in a situation such as this, how fast you find out who your real friends are.  This bit of history is the launching point for this endeavor.  I imagine that through the days ahead I will touch more specifically on the why’s and wherefores and whatever.  But for now I am most startled by the people who left me hanging.   Some of my closest “friends” were the first to throw me to the wolves.

What amazes me is the people who reached out to me early in May, by enlarge were people that I would not have counted as more than acquaintances.  These were people who offered my wife and I assistance, groceries, a kind ear, but most of all, love.  This gave me pause as I was forced to re-consider why I counted the people as close friends that I did.  What I found was most of the people who I thought were my friends, had no interest in friendship at all but were simply using me for their benefit.  When I no longer provided them with any kind of benefit, they were no longer interested in me or my family.  While there certainly is a lot of hurt that I am dealing with, the beauty is that I have found true friendship – that is people who love and care for me, just because I’m me.

I don’t know what God has in store for me going forward, but I know that he has blessed me with true friendship.  For that I am very grateful!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

